As Cool As I Am…

Earlier this week I wrote a guest post for Be Cool Boys on being…well, what else? Cool.

And you know what?

I felt a little bit like a fraud.

Oh, sure – I whole heartedly believe in what I wrote about…about how being “cool” is all about feeling confident in yourself and your choices. I continue to preach this message to EZ in the hopes that he’ll internalize it and it will be come his reality.

But my reality?

I still remember middle school and high school.

I remember having to wear a turtleneck underneath my genie costume on Halloween and how that one piece of fabric immediately zapped all bits of “cool” from it.

I remember my mom getting me the wrong kinds of leggings in middle school. She got me a pair with elastic footing, when all the “cool girls” were wearing ones that stopped right at your ankle.

I remember having glasses and braces in 9th grade and how I was certain that was the end of my social life (before it even began).

I remember only being able to shop at The Gap when they had big sales, and feeling that my “coolness” level somehow shot up 10 points the days I wore my clothes from there.

And looking back? Those moments kind of sucked. But then…

I also remember going to the salon only days before high school graduation and having my hair sheared off,  leaving me with less than 2 inches of crazy curls and loving the freeing feeling that accompanied it.

I remember rocking a candy necklace as jewelry, and not even caring that it wasn’t the silver or gold others sported.

I also remember shopping with friends at a vintage store for my prom dress and rocking the heck out of a strapless, sea-foam green, taffeta dress while everyone else wore variations on short & sexy.

And today, at 31, I go back and forth between the whole cool thing. I try to live what I shared with EZ. I try to project the confidence that I feel. But that can be tricky when I falter, seeing other moms in fashionable clothes, having it all together while I barely stumble through with a semi clean shirt and pair of jeans. (oh…that perfect mom myth is constantly my undoing!)

We all have off days, but most days I’m “on.” I follow my own trends and style (which really is lack-of-style, but I own it, and that’s cool…with me). I figure it’s had to have made some sort of impact on EZ who rocks his own unique style of clothes. If we could just instill the notion that confidence = cool, then maybe we’d all have a lot more “on” days.

*I’d be remiss if I didn’t include the fantabulous song from which I stole this blog title from…let it be the anthem for this post. No fear. Embrace the cool. (and really, despite the perfect or flawed outside…aren’t we all somewhat similar inside?)

 

3 thoughts on “As Cool As I Am…

Leave a Reply

