This Is What A Feminist Looks Like: Amanda

Name: Amanda
Age: 28
Occupation: Marketing Producer
Location: Memphis, TN

Amanda, at 6, on the left

How do you define feminism?
I believe feminism is a frame of mind; its your decision, as a person, to uphold your own ideals above what society tells you.

When did you first identify as a feminist?
As a teen, I witnessed several women, family members and close friends, abused in their personal lives. (Remember abuse is NOT just physical.)  I could not understand why they just accepted it. I was raised in a very conservative, southern household. It bothered me that women were seen as followers and not partners.

Has your (definition of) feminism changed over time? How?
Initially, my definition of feminism was the cliche of a woman in the sixties burning a bra. Now, I realize that feminism is just a word to define women standing up for their right to do whatever the hell they want with their bodies and their lives.

Have you ever experienced resistance to identifying as a feminist? If so, why do you think that is and how do you handle it?
I guess I’m a “closet feminist”. I genuinely don’t show that side of myself until someone truly  needs to be put in their place about a sexist comment or idea. I don’t carry a banner yelling, “I am feminist, deal with it”. I just am one. I won’t stand for anything less than respect and a seat at the table like the rest of the boys.

What do you see as the future of feminism?
What I just said above. I think a lot of women of my generation are like that. We believe we are entitled. It can have its setbacks though. Some of us actually don’t know how good we have it. Its not perfect in America, but compared to how women are still treated in other countries, I think that we can forget what many women had to go through for us to get the freedom we have.

If you would like to participate in this series, please contact me for more details!

Leave a Reply

