This Is What A Feminist Looks Like: Amy

Name:  Amy
Age:  24
Occupation:  Grad student & founder of Feminist Photo Blog Project
Location: In & around Los Angeles, CA🙂

Amy

How do you define feminism? 
Feminism is essentially the journey to establishing a more just and equal society, free from violence or discrimination caused by sexism or patriarchy.

When did you first identify as a feminist? 
The F-word and I married some time in college when I was about 20.
Has your (definition of) feminism changed over time? How? 
I primarily saw it as a women’s movement when I first identified as a Feminist but I for sure now see it as a movement men and women need to be working in together. There is no way we can reach justice or equality, free from sexism, without both sexes seeing each other as allies, not enemies!
Have you ever experienced resistance to identifying as a feminist? If so, why do you think that is and how do you handle it? 
Some family members will think that being a Feminist means being a lesbian so they react to me awkwardly or with hostility. Some men I’ve encountered think that when I call myself a Feminist it means I’m declaring war against their manhood. None of the above are true. I try to explain that I LOVE men! And I believe we can work together! I love Margaret Mead’s quote, “Every time we liberate a woman, we liberate a man.” It’s so true! If anything, Feminism would help to empower men, to alleviate some of those power myths, some of those fears of “male weakness” and allow them to be free!
What do you see as the future of feminism?
My tumblr Feminist Photo Blog Project has shown me many young feminists! Like in high school! I don’t know if I just grew up in a really small, conservative community (well I know I did), but feminism was never talked about when I was younger! So I’m thrilled that young men and women who are in high school are declaring feminism. I hope it is evidence that equality is coming. Maybe for the next generation. Fingers crossed.

Amy is the founder of the Feminist Photo Blog projectYou can find the project via Twitter and Facebook as well!

If you would like to participate in this series, please contact me for more details!

Leave a Reply

