This Is What A Feminist Looks Like: Sarah

Name: Sarah Philbrick-Djerfi
Age: 30
Occupation: mother, student, support provider at a group home and wine retail sales
Location: Niagara area, Ontario

Sarah

How do you define feminism?
Feminism to me is breaking down pre-conceived notions about what girls can or cannot do as well as bringing basic human rights to everyone.

When did you first identify as a feminist?
As a kid, I was always been a bit of a tomboy and always wanted to do the things guys did, when I started hearing “girls can’t do that”, I always wondered, “why not?”. Even though I may not have had a name for it, that was my first steps into feminism. I always pushed myself harder to prove I could do the things that “girls can’t do”.

Has your (definition of) feminism changed over time? How?
My definition of feminism hasn’t changed but my activism and awareness has changed to see how stereotypes and inequality affect many people all over the world.

Have you ever experienced resistance to identifying as a feminist? If so, why do you think that is and how do you handle it?
Not really, my husband is very supportive of the inclusive way we have chosen to raise our children and my family was always very supportive of me participating in whatever I wished.

What do you see as the future of feminism?
As much as I know there is still inequalities for feminists to address I think we need to work towards inclusiveness for everyone as well as still bringing attention to feminist issues.

If you would like to participate in this series, please contact me for more details!

One thought on “This Is What A Feminist Looks Like: Sarah

Leave a Reply

