This Is What A Feminist Looks Like: Terry

Name: Terry Dahl
Age: 49
Occupation: Controller/Payroll Administrator for a hotel company.
Location: Overland Park, KS
Any other relevant tidbits you’d care to share: I am planning on participating in the upcoming Unite Against Women March on April 28th and to participate in a walk in which men are to wear women shoes in which the proceeds benefit this organization.

Other interesting tidbits: I like the color pink and am not afraid to wear pink shirts in public. I also want to point out that I am a strong Christian and realize that many feel the feminism movement might go against their religious beliefs. All I ask is that if you feel that way and that is the only thing holding you up from considering yourself feminism, have a open mind and take a look at this site.

Terry

How do you define feminism?
I define it as gender equality based on help from the Webster Dictionary which defines it as:

“the theory supporting the political, economic, and social equality of the sexes”

When did you first identify as a feminist?
It has been gradual with me. I joined NOW(National Organization For Women) a couple of years ago thanks to Amber Versola (facebook friend who is the leader of my local NOW chapter). That has really opened my eyes with the discrimination that still goes on today. As a male, I feel awful that this is still going on even though I think it is getting better. However with the past election results in our State, it seems we are going backwards again. I want all women to know that I am very sorry for what you have to go through and feel like I need to do something to change that.

Has your (definition of) feminism changed over time? How?
Before I knew better, I just thought of it as being very girly and total opposite of what I am suppose to be about being a male. As time progressed, I looked at it as being a very radical outspoken women’s movement that I ignored.. Now I realize there is so much more to it and after taking the time to educate myself more, I have come to realize this is what I am all about.

Have you ever experienced resistance to identifying as a feminist? If so, why do you think that is and how do you handle it?
I am just coming out of the closet with all of this so I don’t know yet. By opening up by going public with this bio, this will be my first major step in coming out of the closet. I am certain that there will be many who will look at me strangely now as a result of this. I just need to educate them about the merits of feminism and hopefully they will see me and feminism in a different light.

What do you see as the future of feminism?
Thanks to the popularity of social media, it will become more vibrant and powerful. We need to educate and inform others so when they hear the word feminism it will stir up positive vibes instead of negative ones. I am a proud feminist now, however I must admit I am being a coward in being outward about it. Hopefully by doing this, I am on my way now. My hope is that others will get behind this movement now. I also really hope that all women will be strong and stick up for themselves by registering to vote and vote for those candidates that are all about gender equality(political,economic, and social).

Terry Dahl is happily married with no children (unless his dog Misty counts!). His is a colon cancer survivor and a huge KU Jayhawk and KC Royals fan. Terry’s hope for the future is that all his nieces and ALL women to be treated fairly and with RESPECT by men in this society. That includes having the same opportunities and that more women will be leaders in the political and business world.  

3 thoughts on “This Is What A Feminist Looks Like: Terry

Leave a Reply

